全世界人民都爱的蔓越莓

提起蔓越莓,这个一身都是宝的健康水果,早就红遍了半边天,从早期印地安人拿来治剑伤、保存肉品,长期航海的军人、船员拿来当补充剂,防治坏血病,到20世纪经医学证明在防止尿道炎、膀胱炎等泌尿系统疾病,及胃溃疡、牙周病、心血管,甚至美容抗衰老等方面,都有实际功效。

全世界人民都爱它

美国人平均一年要吃掉4亿吨蔓越莓,这颗小红果,早已不仅仅是感恩节火鸡大餐旁的佐酱配角,而是举世注目的「超级水果」。
美国人爱蔓越莓,是因为地域和历史,欧洲人爱它,则有一个小故事。相传早在美国还是英殖民地时代,这些三大桶蔓越莓和两大桶的印地安玉米、三千条鳕鱼一起被当成「贡品」敬献给当时的英王查理二世,因「持久耐放」,坐了好几个月的船,印地安玉米和鳕鱼都腐坏了,只有蔓越莓新鲜如初,自此蔓越莓声名大噪,一跃成为皇室糕点上的常客。
而在几乎不产蔓越莓的亚洲,虽这几年才认识到这种被誉为「北美红宝石」的水果,追捧蔓越莓的劲道却比其他地方更疯狂,从果汁、干果、糕点、冰品、酱汁、菜肴到保健品,到处都有蔓越莓的身影。

令人目眩神迷的“北美红宝石”

蔓越莓属蔓越橘科,是一种特产于北美少数地区,生长在矮藤上,小小、圆圆、表皮富弹性的鲜红果子,也有人称它为小红莓。蔓越莓喜好曾经被冰河覆盖过的高纬度湿地,需要以特殊的环境及气候条件栽培。美国仅东岸的麻州、新州,西岸的华盛顿及俄勒冈,以及中部的威斯康辛是产地,美国以外,在加拿大魁北克、英属哥伦比亚,及南美智利也有生产。全球的蔓越莓产区不到4万英亩,产量有限,因而有「北美的红宝石」之美称。

蔓越莓每年春天播种、秋季收获,采收方法分成“水收”和“干收”两种。优质的蔓越莓果内含空气,所以能够浮在水面上。用水收方式采收,果农先将蔓越莓田注满水,然后开着水车巡回田间打水,等脱落的蔓越莓果浮出水面,再用栏木圈集筛选。水车、红果、波光与蓝天组成壮美画面,往往令驻足欣赏的游客叹为观止。只要赶得上采收季节,您都可以在蔓越莓田边体验令人目眩神迷的红色震撼。

news17

被医学界所广泛证实的健康价值

蔓越莓这种稀有的红色莓果,除了风味独特外,更具有很高的健康价值,主要的抗氧化酚类成份包括:花青素、初花青素、黄酮醇。蔓越莓中所含的浓缩单宁酸对维护泌尿系统健康的功效,已被全球医界所证实﹔同时蔓越莓也被发现对于某些胃部,及口腔细菌的侵害有抑制的功效。

「美国医学会期刊」的研究报告实验数据显示蔓越莓可对人体提供类似天然抗生素的保护作用。美国药典更将蔓越莓登入药典中,美国国家卫生研究院更为它开了专案的研究计画「蔓越莓研究计划」,称蔓越莓是临床医疗的新视界。

维护泌尿系统健康的天然食品

美国药典记载“蔓越莓是对付膀胱炎,尿道感染有效的辅助品”。1998年10月8日出版的权威医学期刊新英格兰医志New England Journal of Medicine期刊指出:“蔓越莓可以防止大肠杆菌附着在尿道衬里的表皮细胞层,如此一来,大肠杆菌就无法进入尿道和膀胱中作怪了。”
女性由于生理结构的关系,因此相较于男性之下,更容易引起尿道系统感染,当然,男性也难以幸免。蔓越莓就如同是泌尿道的红卫兵,不但能酸化尿液不利细菌的滋长,还含有一种叫原花青素(PACs)的营养素,有很强的抗细菌粘附功效。原花青素能阻碍细菌与膀胱壁上细胞的接触。这样,细菌就不会粘附于膀胱壁并引起感染(进而带来痛苦),而是会随尿液排出。
虽然像苹果汁、葡萄汁和绿茶等其他食物也含有原花青素,但蔓越莓是唯一含有A型连接(而非B型连接)原花青素的食物。正是由于这种独特的分子结构,使得蔓越莓成为维护泌尿道健康的唯一食品。
大肠杆菌是80-90%泌尿道感染的元凶。蔓越莓中的原花青素在三个方面对大肠杆菌产生影响。蔓越莓原花青素将大肠杆菌从棒形变为球形,改变细胞膜,压缩细胞外侧的卷须,从而阻碍大肠杆菌附着于膀胱壁内皮上的细胞。这样一来,就能抑制细菌粘附于膀胱壁内皮上的细胞。
因此对于憋尿一族、反覆感染尿道炎的人来说,蔓越莓可说是最天然的抗生素。每日服用蔓越莓,有助于维持泌尿道的健康,改善泌尿道系统感染的问题。

news18

维护消化系统健康

引起胃溃疡的主要原因是一种名为幽门杆菌的细菌。蔓越莓产品可减少胃溃疡的发病率,与蔓越莓促进泌尿道健康和口腔卫生有异曲同工之妙。
2008年5月,以色列特拉维夫大学公布了一项对人体进行的双盲、随机、对照的临床研究,本次研究中的所有受试者均口服抗生素或饮用蔓越莓汁,比较发现,饮用了蔓越莓汁的受试者胃中的携菌量显著减少。
研究指出,蔓越莓中浓缩单宁酸(condensed tannins)成分具有抗黏附机制,在幽门螺旋杆菌(H.pylori)已黏附在胃黏膜上的情形下,饮用蔓越莓汁仍可抑制细菌黏附,进而可以预防胃溃疡的发生。

摄取抗氧化物的饮食新选择

根据美国农业部对食品抗氧化物含量的一次最大规模研究,该研究采用了1100多种常见食品和饮料的样本。这是有史以来最全面的食品抗氧化剂含量大比拼,蔓越莓位居每份抗氧化剂含量最高的五大食品之列。
美国化学会2001年11月出版的论文“Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry”,美国Scranton 大学的Joe A.Vinson博士在研究中比较了20多种常见的天然蔬果,结果发现了蔓越莓所含的生物黄酮量最高。生物黄酮是一种强力的抗氧化物质,有助于清除人体内过量的自由基,而自由基正是导致老化、癌症、糖尿病、心血管病变的杀手,因此经常食用蔓越莓,可避免细胞受破坏并维持细胞的健康与活力。
对于爱美的女性来说,多吃蔓越莓,对于抗老化有相当大的助益,养颜美容。

预防口腔疾病

蔓越莓含有原花青素,这是一种阻碍细菌与膀胱壁上细胞接触的物质。基于这些研究,世界各地的研究人员一直在试验蔓越莓提取物是否对导致蛀牙和牙龈疾病的细菌有抑制作用。这些组织和细胞培养研究取得了可喜的成果,近期美国牙医协会期刊一篇报告指出,蔓越莓汁被证实可以阻断细菌黏附牙齿牙龈上,因此可以降低罹患牙菌斑与牙周病的风险。

news19

预防心血管疾病

蔓越莓属于有利心脏的健康膳食。蔓越莓具有零脂肪、零胆固醇、超低钠等特点。蔓越莓全果富含膳食纤维,而蔓越莓的各种制成品也含有黄酮类及多酚类物质等人体健康不可或缺的天然养分。养成有益心脏健康的饮食习惯,是减少心脏病风险的关键一步,蔓越莓对心脏健康的功效,已经得到大量研究成果的证实。
经常摄取高油脂、高热量、高胆固醇食物的人,心血管容易累积过多的油脂导致血管老化,蔓越莓内含的不饱和脂肪酸以及浓缩单宁酸能有效降低体内胆固醇的氧化,保护心血管健康。
保持健康的血压水平有助于降低罹患中风的风险,而中风也是心脏病的一种形式。钠、钾的摄取与防控高血压息息相关。高钠饮食会导致血压升高,而高钾饮食可降低血压。
蔓越莓,作为有益于心脏健康的食品,有助于将血压维持在健康水平。蔓越莓不仅具有低钠的天然特性,而且还富含钾。食用像蔓越莓这样含高钾、低钠的食物是维持健康血压水平的有效途径。

就现有的各项科学数据而言,蔓越莓对人体泌尿系统,和其他部位的健康,都有极佳的保健效果,是一项天然的抗菌治疗工具,也是女性理想的健康美丽饮品。

参考资料:

1. NIH. Cranberry. https://nccih.nih.gov/health/cranberry
2. Jepson RG, Mihaljevic L, Craig J. Cranberries for preventing urinary tract infections. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2004;(1):CD001321.
3. USDA Database for the Oxygen Radical Absorbance Capacity (ORAC) of Selected Foods,Release 2.
4. NIH. Urinary Tract Infection In Adults. http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/health-topics/urologic-disease/urinary-tract-infections-in-adults/Pages/facts.aspx

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Beloved Super Ruby Fruit – Cranberry

Cranberry is a fruit that has precious value. It’s healthy and very famous among people around the world. In the early days, Indians used it as a cure for wound cut and as the meat preservation. The Navy takes cranberry as a health supplement to prevent scurvy. By the time of twenty-century, medical studies have proved that cranberry is effective for curing urinary tract infection and some other urinary system diseases. Cranberry is also used for curing gastric ulcer, cardiovascular system and it’s even used in the beauty industry.

Beloved Super fruit

Americans consume an average four hundred million tons of cranberry every year. This little red fruit is not just used as the sauce for an Easter Turkey meal anymore; it is a superb fruit in many prospects.

Americans adore cranberry due to its geographic and history. Europeans love it because back in the colonial America a few hundred years ago, three big buckets of cranberry were presented to Charles II of England along with two buckets of Indian corns and three thousand cod. Corns and cod were both badly rotted when arrived in the UK due to the long shipment. Nevertheless, three big buckets of cranberry remained as fresh as what they were when first boarded back in the America. Ever since cranberry is renowned as the anti-corrosive fruit.

Asians do not fully understand the value of cranberry until recent years because Asia countries barely produce cranberry. The demand for cranberry in the Asia region is surging incredibly. Cranberry is used in many places, for instance, juice, cake, ice cream, Chinese food and health supplement.

North America’s dazzling ruby

Cranberry is a group of evergreen dwarf shrubs in the subgenus Oxycoccus of the genus Vaccinium. It is also the major crop in some American states and Canadian provinces. Growing cranberries demand certain conditions. Cranberries prefer to grow in high latitude wetland where used to be covered by glacier. Growing distinct of cranberries is very rare, only less than forty thousand acres of land is producing cranberries with limited production. Cranberry is often called as “North America’s ruby.”

Cranberry seed sowing starts in spring and harvests in autumn. Two major ways of harvesting cranberry are wet harvesting and dry harvesting. Good quality cranberries contain air so they can float on water. Wet harvesting is done by filling water into the farm to let cranberries float on water and then be corralled. Wet harvesting of cranberries is a spectacular scene to view in the autumn.

news17

Value in the clinical medicine

Cranberry is a type of rare red bramble fruit which has unique flavor and abundant health value. The two major antioxidant substances of cranberry are anthocyanin and Flavonol. The condensed tannins of cranberry is proved by the global medical industry that can support the function of urinary system. Researchers also showed that cranberry has the capability of preventing bacteria invasion.

Research studies done by The Journal of the American Medical Association indicate that cranberry is capable of providing enough condensed tannins which gives the similar effect of antibiotic. As a result of this, Cranberry is listed in the United States Pharmacopoeia. Furthermore, National Institutes of Health has conducted and funded a research project on cranberry. Cranberry has indeed become a new vision in the field of clinical medicine.

Natural supplement for the health of urinal system

United States Pharmacopoeia records cranberry as a supplement for curing urinary system diseases. New England Journal of Medicine, which published on 8th Oct 1998, indicates that cranberry can prevent Escherichia coli adhere to layers of the epidermal thereby urethra and bladder can avoid the attack from Escherichia coli.

Biologically women’s urinal system is easier to get infected than men. Nonetheless, men can often suffer urinal diseases as well. Cranberry is like the soldier of our urinal system; it neutralizes urine which stops the bacterial growth. There’s also one type of nutrients called PACs that has antibacterial function which contains in cranberry. It blocks the interaction between bacteria and cells of bladder, and this will prevent bacteria adhere to the bladder wall.

Many other foods such as apple, grape, and green tea also contain PACs as well, but none of them has A form type of PACs. Cranberry is the only food that has it. With its unique molecular structure, cranberry is proved to be the only food that can keep up the health of urinal system.

80~90% of the urinal infection is caused by Escherichia coli. PACs of cranberry influences Escherichia coli in three ways. PACs changes the stick shape of Escherichia coli into a sphere shape and thereby change the cell membrane. This will prevent Escherichia coli from adhering to the bladder wall and, as a result, restraining bacteria from infecting the bladder cells. Therefore for those who have been suffered from urinal diseases, cranberry is exactly best and natural antibiotic to take. Taking cranberry regularly every day can contribute to the health of urinal system and improve the infection problem.

news18

Health of digestive system

Main reason of causing the gastric ulcer is because of a bacteria called Helicobacter pylori. Cranberry can lower the chance of suffering Helicobacter pylori that will cause a gastric ulcer.

In April 2008, Tel Aviv University revealed a report on a clinical research of cranberry. All subjects involved in the experiment were asked to either take cranberry or antibiotic. After the experiment is done, subjects that were taking cranberry has substantially lowered their level of bacteria in their stomach.

This report also indicated that the condensed tannins which contained in cranberry has the mechanism of Anti- adhesion. Even if Helicobacter pylori already adhered to the bladder wall, taking or drinking cranberry products can retrain further adhesion of bacteria, and this will lower the chance of suffering a gastric ulcer.

New Choice of Antioxidant

According to one of the biggest research on the antioxidant content of food which conducted by Agriculture Department of U.S.A government, cranberry is among one of the highest level in five major types of food.

Professor Joe A. Vinson from Scranton University published his essay in “Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry” which issued by American Chemical Society in November 2011. He has done a comparison among twenty fruits, and he found out that the fruit that has the highest level of flavone is cranberry.

Flavone is a powerful antioxidant substance. It is beneficial for clearing excessive free radical inside our body. Free radical is what causes body aging, cancer, diabetes and cardiovascular diseases. More cranberry you eat, the more you can prevent your body cells from being damaged by free radical.

For women who are pursuing for beauty, cranberry can help you combating the aging problem and contribute a lot to the skin care.

Prevention of Oral Diseases

As mentioned above cranberry has PACs which is beneficial for preventing urinal diseases. Based on the application of PACs on urinal system, researchers have been consistently researching whether the extract of cranberry can restrain the bacteria of gingival disease. Various organizations and researchers eventually obtained a gratifying result. American Dental Association has just published a report indicating that cranberry juice can be used as the cure for retraining the bacteria adhering to teeth and thereby the risk of getting periodontitis and dental bacterial plaque is significantly lowered.

news19

Cardiovascular Diseases

Cranberry is a highly reputed health dietary supplement for the heart. Cranberry has zero cholesterol, zero fat, and incredibly low sodium. It contains abundant dietary fiber. And as mentioned above, different types of cranberry product all have flavone and polyphenol which help people to maintain a healthy body. By regularly taking cranberry is essential to reduce the risk of cardiovascular diseases. These facts have been approved by considerable amounts of research result.

People who often take oily, high calorie and high cholesterol food can lead to an aging vascular when excessive fats are stuck in between the vascular. The unsaturated fat and condensed tannins which contain in the cranberry can effectively lower the cholesterol oxidation inside the body and protect the health of heart and vascular.

Keeping the adequate level of blood pressure can effectively lower the risk of suffering a stroke. Stroke is also a form of heart diseases. The intake level of sodium and potassium is essential for preventing a high blood pressure. Food with high sodium can cause a rise of blood pressure, and foods with high potassium can lower the blood pressure.

Cranberry, as the dietary supplement for the heart, is capable of maintaining the level of blood pressure at an adequate level. It doesn’t just have the nature characteristic of low sodium, it also has a very rich potassium. Taking food such as cranberry is a key success to maintain a healthy level of blood pressure.

From various scientific numbers we have, cranberry is approved as an effective fruit that has the excellent health protection. It’s also a natural tool for the antibacterial and an ideal supplement for beauty and health.

References:

1. NIH. Cranberry. https://nccih.nih.gov/health/cranberry
2. Jepson RG, Mihaljevic L, Craig J. Cranberries for preventing urinary tract infections. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2004;(1):CD001321.
3. USDA Database for the Oxygen Radical Absorbance Capacity (ORAC) of Selected Foods,Release 2.
4. NIH. Urinary Tract Infection In Adults. http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/health-topics/urologic-disease/urinary-tract-infections-in-adults/Pages/facts.aspx

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *